Political Appointment: State Legislature Prescribes Denouncing Cultism as Condition …CR Assembly Con

The Cross River State House of Assembly has resolved to peg denunciation of all cultrelated activities by members of the incoming State Executive Council, as a condition for their confirmation. Legislators reached the resolution after debate on the floor of the House for the confirmation of three nominees, Messrs Asuquo Ekpenyong, Jr. and Peter
Akam Egba, former Commissioners for Finance, and Commerce and Industries respectively as well as a legal practitioner, Barrister Tanko Ashang who is new. The members’ resolve became necessary following the rampant
cult activities that have been alleged to have taken over every facet of lives in the state.

The House’s decision will be forwarded to the State Governor alongside the consequential confirmation of the three
confirmed nominees. In the course of deliberations, some legislators had traced alleged sponsorship of rival cult groups has to members of previous State Executive Council, who despite subjecting themselves before the House for screening and confirmation, engaged in unending tussle for leadership of their council wards, local governments or even Senatorial Districts, against elected representatives. Members therefore unanimously agreed that all the present nominees as well as subsequent ones should publicly denounce cultism in its entirety as a precondition for their confirmation. Meanwhile, the Cross River State House of Assembly has confirmed three nominees for appointment into the State Executive Council as Commissioners. Those confirmed are two former members and a
new entrant. They include; Mr. Asuquo Ekpenyong, Junior, immediate past Finance Commissioner, his former colleague in charge of Commerce and Industries, Mr. Peter Akam Egba, and newcomer, Barrister Tanko Ashang.

The confirmation is sequel to a correspondence from the Governor asking the House to confirm in line with section 192(2) of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended. The House which dissolved into the
“Committee of the whole”, subjected the nominees to rigorous screening asking questions bothering on how they intend to assist the State Government deliver the gains of democracy to the citizenry. The motion for confirmation was subsequently moved by the Leader of the House,Rt. Hon. Peter Odey and seconded by the Deputy Leader, Rt. Hon. Fred Osim. The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah Williams stated that members unanimously agreed that
all the nominees be confirmed and advised the nominees to collaborate with the House to facilitate the state’s uplifting. Williams who expressed the Assembly’s commitment to zero tolerance for cultism, stated that members
have unanimously agreed that all political appointees henceforth must denounce cultism openly before their appointment into public service.>>

Leave a Reply