The member representing Obudu State Constituency in the Cross River State House of Assembly, Hon. Godwin Akwaji, has set up a 10-man Local Economic Empowerment and Development Strategy (LEEDS) Committee to
assess the needs of his constituents. Inaugurating the Committee, Hon. Akwaji, recalled that during his electioneering campaign, he had promised to carryout baseline needs assessment to ascertain areas which needed urgent intervention. He noted that a lot still needs to be done in Obudu, adding that the Committee will provide a platform for conversation with constituents to assist him deliver the gains of democracy.

The lawmaker, maintained that as much as the constituency has their illustrious son, Sir Ben Ayade as the Governor of the State, it is incumbent on the constituency to provide the state chief executive with the relevant information to develop the constituency, he adding that “Obudu deserves more than what she has now”. The committee which is
headed by Hon. Tony Adah is saddled with the mandate of looking at the Education, Health, Roads, Water and Sanitation, Electricity as well as Security sectors. Other fields include Sports Empowerment and Training programs for youths, women, the aged and other vulnerable persons in the constituency. He therefore, enjoined the committee to interact with relevant institutions and groups with a view to identifying all areas for possible interventions.
Also speaking, the State Chief Vehicle Inspection Officer (VIO), Sir Paul Bepeh commended Hon. Akwaji for inaugurating the committee and urged that the transportation sector be included in its mandate.

On her part, Hon. Atsu, an advocate for women and community motivator was joyous that the committee is gender sensitive and charged members to work towards its success. In his remarks, the Chairman of the Committee and former Commissioner, Local Government Service Commission, Hon. Tony Adah thanked Hon. Akwaji for finding them worthy of the task and assured that they will try their best to discharge the assignment. Membership of the
committee was drawn from the 10 political wards of Obudu Mr. Tony Ulayi as Secretary and Katie Agba Ajibike, Dr. Starry Ogboaka, Justina Aniah, Emmanuel Utande and Hon. Mike Ube as members. Also named members are,
Rose Abua, Elijah Ugani and James Ngbe Achu.

Leave a Reply