FG reconstitutes Tax Appeal Tribunals

Last Updated on February 26, 2019 by mofsite

The Federal Government has reconstituted the Tax Appeal Tribunals in the six geo-political zones as well as Lagos and Federal Capital Territory. The reconstitution of the Tribunals is in accordance with Section 2(1) of the Fifth Schedule of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) Establishment Act. Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun who announced this Thursday in Abuja, said the Tribunals would adjudicate over disputes arising from the operation of Federal Tax Laws and Regulations in the country. Adeosun said, “the reconstitution of the Tax Appeal Tribunals is an essential part of building tax payers trust
and confidence in the fairness of the system. According to the Minister, “the Federal Ministry of Finance has undertaken a rigorous process to select competent persons on the basis of merit who will be expected to discharge their duties professionally.”

She explained that the Ministry sought nominations from a number of professional bodies and stakeholders, such as the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN), Association of National Accountants of Nigeria (ANAN), Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN), Nigeria Bar Association (NBA) and the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce & Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA). Adeosun further announced that the Tax Appeal Commissioners are expected to hold office for a term of three (3) years from the date of appointment.

Each Tribunal is composed of a Chairman and four Commissioners knowledgeable in the laws, regulations, norms and practices of taxation in Nigeria, management and trade. According to the new reconstitution, Alice Iriogbe is the Tax Appeal Tribunal Chairman for Abuja, Lassise- Peter Moshood is the Lagos Chairman and Bagomi Bukar is the Chairman of North East while Umar Adamu chairs North West. Also, Richard Bala is the Tax Appeal Tribunal Chairman for North Central while Abiola Akinmade, Chukwuemeka Eze and Odiase Obechi chair South West, South East and South South respectively.

Leave a Reply